Broken Gears - Dana’s steampunk fantasy adventure series

BG ATI E-Cover Smaller.jpg

Across the Ice (Broken Gears #3)

“I am more. I am the Reaper. I hold the keys to life and death.”

The city of Springhaven simmers, ready to explode into fiery chaos just as the so-called Halls of Justice did not so long ago. As Lenore grieves, the Reaper's Collective murders yet another of her loved ones. Focused on revenge, she fails to see their tentacles curling around those who remain. Meanwhile, the city's most dangerous crime lords have agreed to a temporary truce in order to dismantle the Collective, but the collaboration could destroy everything Rook has built. As the magistrate council moves toward a vote that will leave half the city enraged, Lenore and her friends' lives hang in the balance. Oaths will be broken, and no one will escape this new web of danger.

Across the Ice is the thrilling conclusion to Lenore's storyline in the captivating Broken Gears YA steampunk fantasy series. For fans of Gail Carriger, Namoi Novik, and Garth Nix. If you like smart heroines, forgotten magic, and rich Victorian settings, then you'll love Dana Fraedrich's intriguing adventure.

Buy Across the Ice to experience the steam-powered adventure today!

Click here to order on Amazon and here to order everywhere else.

Across the Ice

Raven’s Cry (Broken Gears #0, standalone prequel)

“Everything has degrees, and deep evils seem lighter if you are broken enough.”

Calandra—little sister to the future Count of Bone Bay—likes the idea of supporting her people without the pressure of an official title. She prefers quiet and learning over making dreaded small talk with her fellow nobles.

When Nicodemus, a magus with immense power, joins the royal court of Invarnis, Calandra's life changes forever. She is entranced when he shows her magic for the first time, but its entry into the royal court has repercussions she never imagined.

The world Calandra loves twists throughout the centuries while she, cursed and imprisoned, remembers her old life with envy. Her captor goes to any lengths to discover her secret, and Calandra is fighting for her very sanity within her cell.

Meanwhile, a war is coming to Invarnis, a war that will reshape the very fabric of the world. Calandra must decide who to trust and overcome her demons to get revenge...

But can she rediscover her lost light once the dust has settled?

BG RC Cover Kindle Small.jpg

Raven's Cry is a dark retelling of Swan Lake set in Dana Fraedrich's fantasy steampunk world of Broken Gears.

Buy it now to experience Calandra's heart-breaking struggle today!

For fans of Suzanne Collins, Sarah J. Maas, and Naomi Novik. In this standalone installment in Dana Fraedrich's fantasy steampunk series, readers will discover a realm of dark magic and technology as they join Calandra in her battle for freedom, hope, and healing.

Click here to order from Amazon and here to purchase everywhere else.

Raven's Cry (Broken Gears)

Out of the Shadows (Broken Gears #1)

She’s outrun her dark past. But this secretive new world could chew her up and spit her out…

Out of the Shadows features great prose, a gripping plot, and characters that will remain with readers long after they are done reading the story.” —Reader’s Favorite

Lenore Crowley never lets her guard down. Barely surviving on the streets as a common thief, she lives in fear of the brutal Enforcers who would condemn her to a lifetime of torture. So when a wealthy family opens their home and offers a fresh start, Lenore gladly accepts by hiding her true identity…

Visited by a mysterious crime lord bearing a magical oath and a stark warning, Lenore fears not even her fake persona can shield her from the coming danger. With an oppressive high-society code and the threat of an assassin’s blade weighing on her mind, one wrong move could bring her world of lies crashing down. Can Lenore find the courage to forge her own path, or will she be doomed to a life of perpetual torment?

BG OOTS Cover Smaller copy.jpg

Out of the Shadows is the first book in the captivating Broken Gears YA steampunk fantasy series. Fans of the Finishing School series by Gail Carriger and Garth Nix's Old World universe will delight as this Victorian-era-esque world unfolds before them. A multi-layered steampunk fantasy tale of colorful characters, lost magic and technology, and subterfuge that promises to entrance. If you like smart heroines, forgotten magic, and rich Victorian settings, then you’ll love Dana Fraedrich’s intriguing adventure.

Buy Out of the Shadows to enter a steam-powered world of secrets today!

Click here to order from Amazon and here to purchase everywhere else.

Raven's Cry (Broken Gears)

BG IFT Cover.jpg

Into the Fire (Broken Gears #2)

The Springhaven Museum’s expedition to Bone Port is underway!  Opportunities await Lenore and her colleagues, but discovery and enlightenment aren’t the only things they’ll find in southern Invarnis.  Back home in Springhaven, Rook is searching for answers but seems to find only more questions.  Who took out a hit on Lenore?  What is Bloodstone? A trail of clues becomes fraught with danger, and the quest for truth might demand a price he's not willing to pay.

The land of Invarnis is on the precipice of a new age, and the lives of its inhabitants will never be the same again.  The pursuit of knowledge is a noble endeavor, but sometimes one must ask: how much is knowledge worth?  Some things were locked away for a reason...

Click here to order from Amazon and here to purchase everywhere else.

Into the Fire (Broken Gears #2)

Upcoming Events

Want to pre-order some books (and get a free swag bag to go with) for one of Dana’s live events? Click (here) to do that thing.

Dana Fraedrich / participates in affiliate advertising programs designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to,, and others. This page contains affiliate links.